Plenary Speakers


We are pleased to announce that internationally acclaimed experts Mohit Bhandari, Timothy Briggs and Alexander R. Vaccaro will be the plenary speakers at the SICOT Congress in Montreal.


Mohit Bhandari

Dr Mohit Bhandari currently serves as Professor and Academic Head of the Division of Orthopaedic Surgery at McMaster University. He also holds a Canada Research Chair in Evidence-Based Orthopaedic Surgery. He serves as Associate Chair, Research for the Department of Surgery and holds a unique distinction of ‘University Scholar’ at McMaster University.  His research focuses upon improving the lives of individuals experiencing trauma. Dr Bhandari has received over 50 million dollars in research funding, published benchmark textbooks in evidence-based surgery, conducted the field’s largest surgical trials and published in the top cited journals including New England Journal of Medicine, the Lancet, BMJ, and Nature Reviews.





Timothy Briggs 

Professor Briggs qualified from The Royal London Hospital in 1982 with honors in surgery and a number of prizes. After his senior registrar training he was appointed to the Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital as Consultant in 1992. His specialist interests are in orthopaedic oncology as well as surgery to the hip and knee. He was Medical Director at the RNOH for 15 years, ensuring a re-build and was President of the British Orthopaedic Association in 2014. He was appointed as National Director for Clinical Quality and Efficiency for the NHS in September 2015 and has been asked to lead and roll out his GIRFT methodology, developed in orthopaedics, across all surgical and medical specialties within the provider network. Professor Briggs was made a Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (CBE) in the 2018 New Year’s Honours List for services to the surgical profession.



Alexander R. Vaccaro

Dr Vaccaro is the Richard H. Rothman Professor and Chairman, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Professor of Neurosurgery at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.  He was the recipient of the Leon Wiltse award given for excellence in leadership and clinical research for spine care by the North American Spine Society (NASS) and is the past President of the American Spinal Injury Association and current President of the Association for Collaborative Spine Research. He has over 700 peer reviewed and 195 non-peer reviewed publications.  He has published over 340 book chapters and is the editor of over 58 textbooks and co-editor of OKU-Spine I and editor of OKU-8.  Dr Vaccaro is the President of Rothman Institute, Chairman of the department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Co-Director of the Regional Spinal Cord Injury Center of the Delaware Valley and  Co-Director of Spine Surgery at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital where he instructs current fellows and residents in the diagnosis and treatment of various spinal problems and disorders.