SICOT Travelling Fellowship (closed)

Funded by SICOT & Århus University Hospital, Denmark


Every year, SICOT offers young surgeons three-month fellowships to visit an internationally renowned orthopaedic centre. The aim is to improve knowledge and surgical skills. 

The fellowships are:

  • Danish Travelling Fellowshipat Århus University Hospital in Denmark specialised in Spine Surgery. SICOT will cover the accommodation and travel expenses (economy ticket only; taxis will only be reimbursed at a reasonable amount; airport shuttle bus service must be used in priority to taxis) up to EUR 2,500 (proof of expenses must be provided).

  • International Travelling FellowshipThe winner will plan his fellowship (arrange his travel, accommodation and make contact with the center of his choice) and will be awarded a total of EUR 4,000 to do this. This center should have a SICOT member, or the corresponding surgeon is known to, or in contact with, SICOT.



  • must be a SICOT member with membership dues paid two years in a row at the time of the application (the year of the application and the year before)

  • must be 45 years or under at the beginning of the fellowship

  • must have five or more years of specialised orthopaedic training

  • priority is given to attendees of past SICOT meetings

  • medical check-up before travel

  • health insurance coverage during stay at centre


Please send the following documents to [email protected]

  • CV

  • a letter of recommendation from Head of Department

  • two references with e-mail contacts

  • recent health certificate (including lab results for blood tests)

  • application letter containing:

    • aim of travel (travel should take place in 2019), specialty of interest and Fellowship being applied for (1 choice)

    • how this Fellowship will benefit your home country or hospital

  • for the International Travelling Fellowshipthe acceptance letter(s) from the centre(s) and the contact person from the centre(s)


Application deadline31 December 2019


Successful applicants are required to submit a report to SICOT upon completion of their fellowship.




  • Danish Travelling Fellowship: Sahil Batra (India), Sanjay Yadav (India), Gaurav Garg (India), Karthikeyan Maharajan (Singapore)  
  • International Travelling Fellowship: Jiong Jiong Guo (China), Mohamed Amr Hemida (Egypt), Aaradhana Jha Jivendra (Nepal)


  • Danish Travelling Fellowship: Anupreet Bassi (India)     
  • International Travelling Fellowship: Julia Moreira Franco (Brazil)


  • Danish Travelling Fellowship: Peace Ifeoma Amaraegbulam (Nigeria), Kenny Kwan (Hong Kong), Adetunji Toluse (Nigeria), Kedar Phadke (India) 
  • International Travelling Fellowship: Mrinal Sharma (India)


  • Danish Travelling Fellowship: -
  • International Travelling Fellowship: Ahmed Ismail Ahmed Hammouda (Egypt)


  • Danish Travelling Fellowship: Mohamed El Maksoud Ismail (Egypt)
  • German Travelling Fellowship: Sunil Gurpur Kini (India)
  • International Travelling Fellowship: Tanveer Singh Bhutani (India)


  • German Travelling Fellowship: Mayank Agrawal (India) Read report...
  • International Travelling Fellowship: Alfredo Pozzo (Bolivia) Read report...


  • Danish Travelling Fellowship: Dharmendra Singh (India) Read report...
  • German Travelling Fellowship: Hamed Abdelmoula Alhawary (Egypt) Read report...
  • International Travelling Fellowship: Ahmed Abdel-Azeem (Egypt) Read report... (pdf)


  • Danish Travelling Fellowship: Yu Wang (China) Read report...
  • German Travelling Fellowship: Cosmas O. Ihezie (Nigeria) Read report...
  • International Travelling Fellowship: Ghulam Shabbir (Pakistan) Read report...