APSS/SICOT Spine Travelling Fellowship (open)

Funded by SICOT & Asia Pacific Spine Society


Every year, SICOT and APSS (Asia Pacific Spine Society), the Spine Section of the APOA, will offer two selected candidates, who are from outside the Asia Pacific region, the possibility to travel to renowned centres in Asia. 

APSS Travelling Fellowship shall run from 17 May to 5 June 2020, and it will end at the APSS 2020 Annual Meeting in Shanghai, China, from 5-7 June 2020.

Programme can be downloaded here.

The travelling and accommodation costs will be covered by SICOT and APSS.

Kindly note that the fellow is solely responsible for obtaining the visa and the payment of visa fee, health and travel insurance respectively. APSS will assist in securing the documents required for visa application from the hosts (Korea, Singapore and Australia).



  • must be under 45

  • must be a SICOT member with membership dues paid two years in a row at the time of the application (the year of the application and the year before)

  • must have a university level of degree or country equivalent

  • must communicate effectively in English and have a legal status to go abroad

  • must be currently active in spine practice (at least 50% of the workload should be on spine surgery).


Documents to be submitted to fellowships@sicot.org

  • brief curriculum vitae (not more than 4 pages)

    • qualifications (including degree(s), institution (s) and years)

      • basic Medical Degree

      • postgraduate Orthopaedic Education (e.g. FRCS Orth, MS Ortho …)

      • previous Fellowship(s) – date and duration

  • present appointment(s)

  • publication list

  • duration of experience in spine surgery

  • scanned copies of certificates and qualifications

  • scanned passport size photograph in JPEG file

  • scanned copy of passport, with at least 6 months validity

  • 1 abstract related to spine of not more than 300 word. This abstract will be used for presentation in the next APSS congress, as well as during the fellowship.


Deadline for applications: 1 January 2020