A Successful 39th SICOT Orthopaedic World Congress


John P. Dormans
SICOT President 2018-2020


Dear Friends,

On behalf of the SICOT Board of Directors, thank you for your participation in the very successful 39th SICOT Orthopaedic World Congress in Montreal!  The meeting attracted over 2,500 participants from all over the world (approximately 80 countries). SICOT is extremely grateful to all invited speakers, moderators and peer reviewers from the Scientific Board for their invaluable contribution to the programme. The meeting included 50 instructional symposia from practice and research leaders, as well as very informative podium presentations and scientific posters.

Congratulations to all those who received their SICOT Examination Diploma and to all of the Examiners who help to ensure our global standard in Trauma and Orthopaedics is met. Congratulations as well to the SICOT Research Award recipients and reviewers. 

I would like to give special thanks to those who helped organize the meeting: our local host, Julio Fernandes, the SICOT Programme Committee and the Chair, Vikas Khanduja, as well as those in the Head Office, Linda Ridefjord, Katia Gnych, Rebecca White and Vincent De Brandt. 

Finally, a very heartfelt and special thank you to our now Past President, S. Rajasekaran, for his global leadership and guidance over the past 2 years, and for residing over both the 38th and 39th Orthopaedic World Congresses (Cape Town and Montreal).  His enduring work and dedication to orthopaedics and trauma will continue to establish SICOT and its congresses as some of the best in the world!!!  

From left to right: Keith Luk (SICOT Past President), James Waddell (Secretary General), John Dormans (President), S. Rajasekaran (Immediate Past President), Ashok Johari (President Elect), Philippe Hernigou (Treasurer)